19th Rajiv Gandhi National Sadbhavana Award will be conferred on SPIC MACAY

This award has been given to SPIC MACAY for its contribution towards the promotion of harmony, fostering amity and understanding amongst the masses particularly the youth through classical music and other aspects of our composite heritage. The award, which was instituted to commemorate the lasting  contribution made by the former Prime Minister, carries a citation and a cash award of Rs. five lakhs. It will be given on August 20, the birthday of Rajiv Gandhi.The 19th Rajiv Gandhi National Sadbhavana Award will be conferred on SPIC MACAY. The decision was taken in award advisory committee meeting held on 31st July 2011.Former recepients of the award include Mother Teresa, shenai maestro Ustad Bismillah Khan, Grameen Bank founder Mohd Yunus of Bangladesh, Hiteswar Saikia (former Assam Chief Minister) and Subhadra Joshi (jointly), Lata Mangeshkar, Sunil Dutt, Jagan Nath Kaul, Dilip Kumar and Kapila Vatsyayan(author),Wahiuddin Khan(Islamic Scholar).